

De Montfort University Technician Commitment Steering Group – Terms of Reference Academic Year 2023/24

1 Purpose

The main purpose of the Technician Commitment Steering Group is to oversee the implementation of the Technician Commitment action plan/s and associated activity at De Montfort University (DMU) in order that the work is progressed to a satisfactory standard to advance and develop our technician community.

The Steering Group will engage relevant stakeholders to ensure that the work is truly representative of the ambitions of DMU. The Group will maximise support for the approach taken by ensuring high levels of engagement throughout the action planning process.

2 Principles

- a. That the Steering Group will undertake the process in a democratic, transparent and fair fashion, encouraging widespread participation and giving equal consideration to opinions and ideas from members of the DMU community.
- b. All decisions made shall be fully evidenced and supported through consultation with the technician community.
- c. Roles and Responsibilities
- d. In order to achieve this, the Steering Group will carry out the following roles:
- e. Be accountable for steering and providing strategic management of the Technician Development and Advancement (TDA) Board which is responsible for operationalising and implementing activity in practice;
- f. Monitor the Technician Commitment current action plan;
- g. Actively support and promote the activities of the action plan;
- h. Identify sources of funding, as appropriate, as identified by the Project Board;
- i. Oversee the engagement strategy (where relevant), showing how stakeholders will be involved throughout the process;
- j. Regularly report back to the University Leadership Board (ULB) for endorsement of key decisions taken, as relevant;
- k. Consult as widely and thoroughly as is possible to ensure that the activity is supportive of the requirements of key stakeholders;
- I. Agree, subject to ratification by ULB that the current action plan has fulfilled its commitment after the relevant phase of activity.

3 Membership

- a. The Steering Group will be made up of a cross-section of senior academics, People Services and Organisational Development representatives, technicians, faculty and ITMS representatives.
- b. Every effort will be made to ensure membership is inclusive.

4 Decision Making

a. The Steering Group has full delegated authority from the ULB to deliver the action plan. The

Group will report to ULB on a regular basis setting out progress on its work.

b. The Steering Group empowers the TDA Board to deliver activities 'on the ground' to facilitate technician advancement and development activity.

5 Meetings

- a. Steering Group meetings will normally take place termly for the duration of the current action plan.
- b. The dates of meetings will be published on the DMU website.
- c. The Steering Group members will remain in their positions until the action plan is completed. If members' circumstances mean a vacancy arises then alternate members will be asked to join the Group.
- d. The Secretary shall keep a record of meetings and minutes will be published on the DMU website.
- e. Decisions made by the Steering Group should normally be by consensus at Steering Group meetings.
- f. The Steering Group is quorate if 50% of the members are present and must include at least one senior academic, two technicians and OD representation.

6 Funding

Any funding requirements identified will be applied for via the relevant bidding process at that time.

7 Conduct

The Steering Group will apply the following principles:

- a. Treat everyone with dignity, courtesy and respect regardless of their age, gender, sexual orientation, ethnicity, or religion and belief; and
- b. Actively promote equality of access and opportunity.

8 Changes to the Terms of Reference

This constitution may be amended with the support of at least two-thirds of the current membership at a Steering Group Meeting.

9 Dissolution

- a. The Steering Group may be dissolved once the current action plan is deemed to be satisfactorily completed to enter into 'business and usual', to then be facilitated and overseen by the TDA Board.
- b. If the Steering Group has requested and been awarded funds, upon the dissolution of the Group, any remaining funds will be returned to the University or passed onto the TDA Board.

De Montfort University

Technician Commitment Steering Group – Membership for 2023/24 revised Jan 2024

<u>Chair:</u>

Richard Greene, Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Deputy Chair:

Ruth Watson, Deputy Director of People Services

<u>Faculty representatives:</u> Director of Faculty Operations CEM and SRO – Georgina Hill Director of Faculty Operations HLS – David Bryan

Technical Services Manager ADH – Michaela Hawes Technical Instructor ADH – Kelly McRobie Technical Services Manager CEM – Manbir Sambhi Team Leader/Senior Technician CEM – Ashok Karavadra Acting Technical Services Manager HLS – Niran Patel Research Technician HLS – Ketan Ruparelia

Academic representative ADH – Christine White Academic representative CEM – Alistair Duffy Academic representative HLS – Randolph Aroo

ITMS representatives:

ITMS Services Manager – Ram Basra Deputy Multi-Media Services Manager ITMS – Dave Tunnicliffe Technical Instructor ITMS – Jamie Merryfield

<u>Organisational Development representative:</u> Associate Director of Talent & Organisational Development – Amy Murphy

<u>Secretary and Servicing Officer:</u> Rachel Beeby

Invited guests: MarComms representative – tbc Events representative – tbc People Partner – Gemma Goodman